General Council

The Munster Agricultural Society is run by a General Council comprised of:

1. 32 Elected Persons

2. Former Presidents of the Society, numbering five at present :
    Dominic J. Daly,
    George W. Jeffery,
    Eddie Barrett,
    C. Gerard Murphy,
    Kate Horgan,

3. Vice presidents of the Society, numbering four:
   Michael O’Driscoll,
   John Jeffery,
   Donal O’Connor,
   Kitty Cotter

4. The Lord Mayor of Cork : Cllr. Deirdre Forde
    The Mayor of the County of Cork : Cllr. Danny Collins     
    Head of the School of Food & Nutritional Sciences UCC : Professor Mairead Kiely

    Cork City Council, Chief Executive Officer : Ann Doherty
    Cork City Council, CEO Representative : Paul Moynihan
    Cork City Councillors, numbering three : Vacant  

    1 Representative from each of:

    Kerry                         Donal Geaney;
    Limerick                     1 Vacant;
    Tipperary                   1 Vacant;
    Waterford                  1 Vacant;
    Clare                            1 Vacant

The General Council appoints the:

President : Robert C. Harkin
Deputy President : Albert de Cogan
Honorary Treasurer : Peter O’Sullivan
Honorary Secretary : Shane Kelly

The President acts as Chairperson of the General Council.
The Deputy President acts as Vice Chairperson of the General Council.

The President & Deputy President form part of the Board of Directors.

The Board of Directors is comprised of
President – Chairperson : Robert Harkin
Deputy President – Vice Chairperson : Albert de Cogan

And 5 other Elected Directors:
Gerard Murphy
Mary McGraw
William Nicholson
Paul Lynch
Peter O’Sullivan

The Society Secretary holds the post of Secretary to the Company: Shane Kelly


Elected Persons (including Co Opted) to Council:

Albert de Cogan – Deputy President
Alan Coleman
Ann Ingram - Canine Chairperson
Bob O'Keeffe
Catherine Cotter
Dan Kelleher
Daniel O’Brien
Damian Boylan
Elanor Calnan – Arts & Crafts Chairperson
Helena Crowley
Jim Jeffery
Jim Willis
John O’Sullivan – Equine Chairperson
Louisa Casey - Canine Secretary
Mary McGraw - Director
Mary O'Sullivan
Michael Boyle
Morgan O’Donovan – Poultry Chairperson
Nicola Desmond – Horticultural Chairperson
Nicola Desmond – Horticulture & Invertebrates
Owen Hurley – Science & Innovation Chairperson
Pat Geaney
Patrick McCarthy
Paul Lynch – Society Development Chairperson
Paul O’Flynn
Peter O’Sullivan – Director
Phil Verling
Raymond O’Connor
Robert Harkin - President
Roisin Shanahan
Sarah Guerin
Shane Kelly – Honorary Secretary
Shane Kelly – Society / Company Secretary
Tadgh Quill-Manley
William Nicholson - Director
Kate Kiely – Marketing & Administration